The finalists for the 2018 Hugo Awards have been announced by the World Science Fiction Society and the Star Trek: Discovery episode “Magic to Make the Sanest Man Go Mad” has been nominated in the Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form category.

Directed by David M. Barrett, the episode was co-written by Aron Eli Coleite and Jesse Alexander. Originally airing back in October of 2017, the seventh episode in the series’ first season featured Harry Mudd (played by Rainn Wilson) trapping the crew of Discovery in a time loop as he attempted to uncover the starship’s warp secret.

Discovery‘s competition in the category, includes: Black Mirror‘s “USS Callister,”
the song “The Deep” by Clipping, Doctor Who‘s “Twice Upon a Time,” The Good Place‘s “Michael’s Gambit,” and “The Trolley Problem”.

Rainn Wilson as Harry Mudd, Jason Isaacs as Captain Gabriel Lorca, Sonequa Martin-Green as First Officer Michael Burnham, Anthony Rapp as Lieutenant Paul Stamets and Shazad Latif as Lieutenant Ash Tyler | CBS

Star Trek: Discovery was also recently nominated for five Saturn Awards. is your dedicated source for all the latest news on Star Trek: Discovery. Follow @TrekNewsnet on Twitter, TrekNews on Facebook, @TrekNews on Instagram and TrekNewsnet on YouTube.

[amazon_link asins=’B01N47VPJG,B01NAJ4HMI,1501164570,B074ZNRF1P’ template=’ProductGrid’ store=’treknenet-20′ marketplace=’US’ link_id=’ca0ab9bb-9bd1-11e7-8c3d-5d06f7971e49′]


Click to comment

Trending Articles


Review Star Trek: Lower Decks Season 3 Episode 6 “Hear All, Trust Nothing” The Cerritos makes a surprise stop at everyone’s favorite Cardassian-turned-Federation space...


A Star Trek video game geared toward a younger demographic that the whole family can enjoy.


"Crisis Point 2 is twice as good as the original."


Review: Star Trek: Prodigy Season 1 Episode 13 “All the World’s a Stage” This week’s Star Trek: Prodigy not only tells a story relevant...

AboutContactTip UsTerms of UsePrivacy Notice, the website, the promotion thereof and/or any exhibition of material created by is not endorsed or sponsored by or affiliated with CBS/Paramount Pictures or the STAR TREK franchise.

We're now on Mastodon.

© 2011–2022

Exit mobile version