Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Star Trek Day 2021 to Celebrate 55th Anniversary of the Franchise on September 8 with Live Panels and Reveals

The event will stream live and feature cast and crew from all five Paramount+ Star Trek series, including Discovery, Strange New Worlds, Picard, Lower Decks and Prodigy.

Star Trek Day 2021 To Celebrate 55th Anniversary Of The Franchise On September 8 With Live Panels And Reveals

Star Trek Day 2021, streaming September 8th

To celebrate the 55th anniversary of Star Trek premiering on television, Paramount+ is hosting a live stream that promises in-person conversations with cast and crew from throughout the Star Trek franchise, surprise announcements, and “legacy moments” with well-known cast members.

The celebration consists of 13 panels emanating live from the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles, California, hosted by Wil Wheaton and Mica Burton on Paramount+ and Paramount+’s Twitch page and will be available on-demand through Paramount+’s YouTube Channel after its initial airing. All panels focus on various Star Trek TV shows and cast interviews.

The celebration runs on September 8th starting at 8:30 p.m. ET. / 5:30 p.m. PT and is expected to run for about two and a half hours.

Announcement video

Current and future Star Trek shows will have a major presence at the event. Some of the cast and crew of the upcoming animated show Star Trek: Prodigy will “give fans an update” on what to expect from the show. The Star Trek: Strange New Worlds panel will feature Anson Mount (Captain Pike), Rebecca Romijn (Number One), and Ethan Peck (Spock), along with some creative minds from that show. Star Trek: Picard will be well-represented, with Patrick Stewart (Captain Picard), Jeri Ryan (Seven of Nine), and Isa Briones (Soji Asha) joining the panel. Star Trek: Discovery‘s Wilson Cruz (Doctor Hugh Culber), Blu del Barrio (Adira Tal), and Ian Alexander (Gray Tal) will talk about the upcoming season of their show, and Noel Wells (Tendi) and Eugene Cordero (Rutherford) will represent Star Trek: Lower Decks with creator Mike McMahan.

Star Trek Day 2021 Lineup

  • STAR TREK: PRODIGY, with series voice cast including Brett Gray and Dee Bradley Baker, along with executive producers Kevin and Dan Hageman and co-executive producer/director, Ben Hibon.
  • STAR TREK: DISCOVERY, with series stars Wilson Cruz, Blu del Barrio and Ian Alexander and co-showrunner and executive producer Michelle Paradise.
  • STAR TREK: STRANGE NEW WORLDS, with series stars Anson Mount, Rebecca Romijn and Ethan Peck, who will be joined by co-showrunners and executive producers Akiva Goldsman and Henry Alonso Myers. 
  • STAR TREK: LOWER DECKS, with voice cast members Noël Wells and Eugene Cordero alongside series creator, showrunner and executive producer Mike McMahan.
  • STAR TREK: PICARD, with series stars Patrick Stewart and Jeri Ryan, co-showrunner and executive producer Akiva Goldsman and a special live performance from Isa Briones, singing “Blue Skies,” which was featured in the Picard season one finale. 
  • RODDENBERRY LEGACY PANEL, featuring a conversation with Gene Roddenberry’s son and the CEO of Roddenberry Entertainment, Rod Roddenberry, alongside Gates McFadden (“Star Trek: The Next Generation”), LeVar Burton (“Star Trek: The Next Generation”) and George Takei (“Star Trek: The Original Series”), as they discuss the “Star Trek” creator’s indelible impact on science fiction and culture.

The “legacy moments” portion of the event will feature the following iconic Star Trek cast members:

  • Cirroc Lofton from Star Trek: Deep Space Nine
  • Anthony Montgomery from Star Trek: Enterprise
  • Garrett Wang from Star Trek: Voyager
  • George Takei from Star Trek: The Original Series
  • LeVar Burton from Star Trek: The Next Generation

Strange New Worlds logo revealed

The announcement video also gave us our first look at what appears to be the logo for the upcoming Star Trek: Strange New Worlds series, starring Anson Mount, Rebecca Romijn and Ethan Peck.

Star Trek: Strange New Worlds logo
Star Trek: Strange New Worlds logo | CBS

The aforementioned “legacy moments” involve intimate conversations with certain actors, such as Cirroc Lofton (Jake Sisko from Deep Space Nine), Anthony Montgomery (Travis Mayweather from Enterprise), Garrett Wang (Harry Kim from Voyager), George Takei (Sulu from The Original Series), and LeVar Burton (Geordi La Forge from The Next Generation).

Stay tuned to for all the latest news on Star Trek: Discovery, Star Trek: Strange New Worlds, Star Trek: Picard, Star Trek: Lower Decks, Star Trek: Prodigy, and more.

You can follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Written By

Kyle Hadyniak has been a lifelong Star Trek fan, and isn't ashamed to admit that Star Trek V: The Final Frontier and Star Trek: Nemesis are his favorite Star Trek movies. You can follow Kyle on Twitter @khady93.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Fred Ellis jr

    September 9, 2021 at 10:19 am

    I have been a star trek fan since day 1 I’m now 67 years old and have lots of things from that time even things to never to be seen again even the pilot of capt pike

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Trek Geeks Podcast


Trending Articles


Preview: Star Trek: Discovery 509 “Lagrange Point” With the finale of Star Trek: Discovery just over a week away, today we have a clip...


Preview: Star Trek: Discovery 507 “Erigah” The seventh episode of Star Trek: Discovery’s fifth and final season “Erigah” premieres this Thursday, May 9th. The...


Preview: Star Trek: Discovery 508 “Labyrinths” As we near the end of Star Trek: Discovery’s fifth and final season, the 8th episode “Labyrinths” will...


Preview: Star Trek: Discovery 505 “Mirrors” The fifth episode of Star Trek: Discovery’s fifth and final season “Mirrors” premieres this Thursday, April 25. The...

AboutContactTip UsTerms of UsePrivacy Notice, the website, the promotion thereof and/or any exhibition of material created by is not endorsed or sponsored by or affiliated with CBS/Paramount Pictures or the STAR TREK franchise.

© 2011–2024