Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Events

Star Trek Online Goes Free-to-Play on January 17th + News on Special Launch Event

As we first announced last November, Star Trek Online will go free-to-play on Tuesday, January 17th.

In celebration of this event MMORPG blog Massively will be partnering with Cryptic Studios for a special online launch event to welcome new and veteran captains to the online game.

Massively’s launch schedule:

1:00 p.m. EST (10:00 a.m. PST): Livestream of Federation character creation/tutorial and a 500 STO Promo Point giveaway (Co-hosted by Massively!)

2:00 p.m. EST (11:00 a.m. PST): Giveaway on DS9 — Costume contest for 1000 STO Promo Points (Co-hosted by Trek Radio)

4:00 p.m. EST (1:00 p.m. PST): Giveaway on Drozana — Dance Party and Emote Contest for 1000 STO Promo Points (Co-hosted by Subspace Radio)

5:00 p.m. EST (2:00 p.m. PST): Livestream of KDF character creation/starting missions and a 500 STO Promo Point giveaway (Co-hosted by Massively!)

6:00 p.m. EST (3:00 p.m. PST): Foundry Missions Event (meet in DS9 Social System; announcements/teaming in channel)

7:00 p.m. EST (4:00 p.m. PST): PvP Event (meet in DS9 Social System, public space & ground queue; announcements/teaming in channel)

8:00 p.m. EST (5:00 p.m. PST): Livestream — Giveaway on Defera and Trek Trivia for 5000 STO Promo Points (Co-hosted by Massively!)

Watch the new STO opening sequence below.

Register for your free Star Trek Online account today at Perfect World.

[Source: Massively]

Written By

2 Comments

2 Comments

  1. Aurora

    January 13, 2012 at 7:29 pm

    I always meant to check out STO but the monthly charge kept me away. Looks like I won’t have any excuses come next week. 🙂

  2. Matthew Markovich

    January 13, 2012 at 7:34 pm

    Wish I could get behind something like this. I was never into games but if I were something like this would be fun. However, I am too picky about little things like not restoring the Romulan appearance to their original Vulcan like they did in the STAR TREK 09 movie. Also, looks like they try to do too much all at once; Klingons reasserting themselves, Dominion return to the Alpha Quadrant, the Borg assimilate everyone one it sight – the Borg would win by the way over the Dominion. Oh well, I’ll wait for the holographic VR TV and create my own scifi realm.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Facebook

Twitter

Advertisement
Advertisement

Trending Articles

News

The premiere of the fourth season of Star Trek: Discovery is right around the corner. Announced during the series’ Star Trek Day panel, Discovery...

News

The cast of Star Trek: Strange New Worlds has been revealed. Joining Anson Mount (Captain Christopher Pike), Rebecca Romijn (Una Chin-Riley/Number One) and Ethan...

News

The trailer for the second season of Star Trek: Picard made its debut during Wednesday’s Star Trek Day festivities. The trailer gives us a...

News

Beltran is back Robert Beltran is set to return to the Star Trek Universe as an animated version of Captain Chakotay. Announced by executive...

AboutContactTip UsTerms of UsePrivacy Notice

TrekNews.net, the website, the promotion thereof and/or any exhibition of material created by TrekNews.net is not endorsed or sponsored by or affiliated with CBS/Paramount Pictures or the STAR TREK franchise.


© 2011–2021 TrekNews.net