Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Star Trek: TOS

Today In History: ‘Star Trek’ Premieres on NBC

Today In History: 'Star Trek' Premieres on NBC

Today (September 8) in 1966, Gene Roddenberry’s Star Trek premiered on NBC with “The Man Trap” at 8:30PM as part of a “sneak preview” block.

Starring William Shatner as Captain Kirk, Leonard Nimoy as Mr. Spock, and DeForest Kelley as Dr. Leonard “Bones” McCoy, the episode was written by George Clayton Johnson and directed by Marc Daniels.

While it was the first to hit the television airwaves, “The Man Trap” was not actually the first to be produced. “Where No Man Has Gone Before” along with other regular episodes had been produced prior to it. The episode starred characters that would go on to become household names and span four spin-off television series and twelve movies.

Shatner and Nimoy acknowledged the anniversary on his Twitter account:

Advertisement for 'Star Trek's' 1966 premiere

Advertisement for ‘Star Trek’s’ 1966 premiere

Commercial for Star Trek’s premiere on NBC:

Extended previews for the first, second and third seasons:

First season intro:

Written By

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Trek Geeks Podcast


Trending Articles


Back to the Stars: Rediscovering Star Trek’s Legacy with Captain to Captain – A Retro-Review There are near-countless Star Trek novels out there. Unlike...


With the launch of the final season of Star Trek: Discovery right around the corner, Paramount+ has released an official trailer for the series’...


Production has begun on Star Trek: Section 31 The 14th Star Trek film has now begun production, as Paramount+ announced the start of production...


Review: Star Trek: Lower Decks – U.S.S. Cerritos Crew Handbook Have you ever wanted to get the full U.S.S. Cerritos onboarding experience? Ever picture...

AboutContactTip UsTerms of UsePrivacy Notice, the website, the promotion thereof and/or any exhibition of material created by is not endorsed or sponsored by or affiliated with CBS/Paramount Pictures or the STAR TREK franchise.

© 2011–2024