Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Fan Films

CBS, Paramount Settle ‘Axanar’ Lawsuit

CBS/Paramount Settle "Axanar" Lawsuit

The legal battle between CBS/Paramount and Alec Peters and his production company, Axanar Productions, Inc., seems to finally be over.

The two parties settled the copyright lawsuit brought by the two television companies, copyright holders to Star Trek, against Peters and his fan films. CBS and Paramount claimed Peters had broken copyright law by using items from the Star Trek universe, such as Vulcan ears, species names, and costumes, in his company’s films Prelude to Axanar and its sequel.

“Axanar and Mr. Peters have agreed to make substantial changes to Axanar to resolve this litigation, and have also assured the copyright holders that any future Star Trek fan films produced by Axanar or Mr. Peters will be in accordance with the ‘Guidelines for Fan Films’ distributed by CBS and Paramount in June 2016,” states the parties’ joint announcement of a settlement, as reported by the Hollywood Reporter.

It is unclear what the “substantial changes” to Axanar involves. However, in late May 2016, CBS and Paramount instituted the aforementioned fan film guidelines for the production of Star Trek-based films. The guidelines can be seen here.

The lawsuit was originally brought in December 2015, after work had been conducted on the films with money generated from a substantial crowdfunding campaign. Star Trek and Star Trek: Into Darkness director J.J. Abrams become involved in the lawsuit after he announced at a Star Trek: Beyond fan event that the lawsuit was “going away.” However, it is unclear whether he had anything to do with the lawsuit’s settlement.

The battle between CBS/Paramount and Axanar was a lengthy one. Visit this page to view’s comprehensive coverage of the lawsuit.

Written By

Kyle Hadyniak has been a lifelong Star Trek fan, and isn't ashamed to admit that Star Trek V: The Final Frontier and Star Trek: Nemesis are his favorite Star Trek movies. You can follow Kyle on Twitter @khady93.



  1. ericphillips

    January 20, 2017 at 5:39 pm

    For all his bluster, for all the outrageous legal maneuvers he claimed would let him win, it turns out Alec Peters is a loser.

  2. The Chadwick

    January 20, 2017 at 5:53 pm

    As a donor to Axanar and the Prelude I received an email from Axanar with a little more detail about some of the stipulations. There are still many things Alec Peters cannot share with us but the bits of info in the email I will not divulge, but this is a win for Axanar. Its not everything we or team Axanar wanted but its still a victory and an amicable one. Cheers to CBS, Cheers to Paramount, Cheers to Axanar, Cheers to ALL Star Trek

  3. Akiva1

    January 20, 2017 at 6:01 pm

    Found some interesting potential new series called Starwatch.

  4. The_Great_Nagus

    January 21, 2017 at 5:34 am

    Bye Bye Star Trek live long and Prosper in our memories. CBS and Paramount have let you die on the altar of their greed. I personaly hope many free copies of your products will teach your a lesson in future.

    • exps

      March 29, 2017 at 2:39 pm

      I agree, I won’t be watching discovery.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Trending Articles


The premiere of the fourth season of Star Trek: Discovery is right around the corner. Announced during the series’ Star Trek Day panel, Discovery...


It looks like Kate Mulgrew won’t be the only Voyager castmember returning to the Star Trek franchise in the upcoming animated series Star Trek:...


The cast of Star Trek: Strange New Worlds has been revealed. Joining Anson Mount (Captain Christopher Pike), Rebecca Romijn (Una Chin-Riley/Number One) and Ethan...


The trailer for the second season of Star Trek: Picard made its debut during Wednesday’s Star Trek Day festivities. The trailer gives us a...

AboutContactTip UsTerms of UsePrivacy Notice, the website, the promotion thereof and/or any exhibition of material created by is not endorsed or sponsored by or affiliated with CBS/Paramount Pictures or the STAR TREK franchise.

© 2011–2021